Published 2026-10-29
Checked 2026-10-29
DATA SHEET · 2026-10-29
Which reading tool does which job? The feature matrix
Only two tools on this sheet recap a story up to your page without spoilers: Magic Bookmark (any format, supported titles, iPhone) and Kindle Story So Far (Kindle ebooks, US). Read-aloud with highlighting comes from Speechify, iPhone Speak Screen and Kindle Immersion Reading. Free audiobooks come from Libby. Timers and body doubling (Llama Life, Focusmate, Forest) do not touch the text at all; they get you to it.
A single sheet of the reading and memory tools on this site, with the features that matter when attention is the bottleneck. Every cell comes from the tool’s official page; blanks mean the page did not say.
What does each tool do with the text?
Text features by tool (official pages checked 2026-10-29; Magic Bookmark and Kindle facts from pages checked 2026-10-27). “Not stated” means the official page we checked did not say.
| Tool | Recap to your page | Reads aloud | Highlights words | Works with print books | Works with audiobooks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magic Bookmark | Yes, plus cast list and Q&A | No | No | Yes, photo or page number | Yes, since 2026-10-27 |
| Kindle Story So Far | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Kindle Ask this Book | Answers questions without spoilers | No | No | No | No |
| Kindle + Audible Immersion Reading | No | Narrator | Yes | Page Sync lets you switch print and audio | Yes, both formats needed |
| Speechify | No (AI summaries on Premium are not page-locked) | Yes | Yes | Scan & Listen (Premium) | Not stated |
| iPhone Speak Screen | No | Yes | Yes, customizable | No | Not applicable |
| Android Select to Speak | No | Yes | Not stated | Camera text in supported languages | Not applicable |
| Libby | No | Narrated audiobooks | No | Not applicable | Yes, borrow free |
Which session tools help you get to the text?
Session tools by mechanic (provisional desk scores from our lists)
| Tool | Mechanic | Session length | Phone handling | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Llama Life | One task, one countdown | You set it | None built in | 80/100 |
| Focusmate | Booked 1:1 video partner | 25, 50 or 75 minutes | Your choice | 79/100 |
| Forest | Tree grows while you stay off the phone | You set it | Leaving kills the tree | 78/100 |
| iPhone Focus / Android Focus mode | Silence or pause chosen apps | Until you turn it off | Built in | Not scored (system feature) |
Where do they run, and how do they charge?
Platforms and cost model
| Tool | iPhone | Android | Web or desktop | Cost model |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magic Bookmark | Yes | Roadmap | No (Mac listed, not verified) | First book free, then per book |
| Kindle recap tools | Kindle iOS app | Ask this Book: Amazon said it would expand | Kindle devices | Included with Kindle ebook |
| Speechify | Yes | Yes | Mac, Windows, Chrome, Edge | Free plan; subscription |
| Libby | Yes | Yes | libbyapp.com | Free with library card |
| Audible | Yes | Yes | Not covered here | Subscription |
| Llama Life | Yes | Yes | Web | $$ band |
| Focusmate | Web | Web | Web | Free for 3 sessions a week; Plus |
| Forest | Yes | Yes | Not covered here | One-time plus optional |
How do you read this matrix?
- Start from your stall, not from the most “Yes” cells. A tool with one feature you need beats one with ten you do not.
- Recap is the rarest feature. If coming back after a gap is your problem, the choice is short: Magic Bookmark if you read in print, audio or a non-Kindle ebook and your title is supported; Story So Far if you read Kindle ebooks in the US.
- Read-aloud is the most common, and free on every phone. Pay for it only if the built-in voice is what stops you.
- Session tools are interchangeable in principle. Pick the one whose mechanic matches your failure point; see focus timer apps for reading.
What is not in the matrix?
General chatbots, because they do not know your page and can spoil or invent details. Book trackers such as Goodreads and The StoryGraph, because they log reading rather than help with it. Brain-training apps, because they make different claims that we do not assess. If you think a tool belongs here, email the corrections address in the footer with the official page that supports it.
Questions people actually ask
Which reading apps recap a book without spoilers?
Magic Bookmark (any format, supported titles, iPhone) and Kindle’s Story So Far (Kindle ebooks, US). Kindle’s Ask this Book answers questions without spoilers inside Kindle ebooks.
Which apps highlight words while reading aloud?
Speechify, iPhone Speak Screen and Speak Selection, and Kindle Immersion Reading with an Audible audiobook. Android’s help page for Select to Speak does not say.
Which tools work with a paper book?
Magic Bookmark (photo of the page or the page number), Speechify Scan & Listen on Premium, Android Select to Speak through the camera in supported languages, and Audible’s Page Sync for switching between print and audio.
Is there one reading tool that does everything?
No. Recap, read-aloud and session tools do different jobs. Most readers need one of them, matched to where they stall, rather than all three.
Sources
- Magic Bookmark: Book Recaps, App Store listing (US), checked 2026-10-27
- Magic Bookmark website, checked 2026-10-27
- Amazon: Kindle Recaps, Story So Far and Ask this Book
- Good e-Reader: Ask this Book is available on the Kindle app for iOS (14 Dec 2025)
- Audible Help: Learn about Read & Listen (formerly Whispersync for Voice), checked 2026-10-29
- Speechify home page (platforms, text highlighting, Scan & Listen), checked 2026-10-29
- Speechify pricing page, checked 2026-10-29
- Apple Support: Hear iPhone speak the screen, selected text, and typing feedback, checked 2026-10-29
- Android Accessibility Help: Use Select to Speak, checked 2026-10-29
- OverDrive: the Libby app, checked 2026-10-29
- Focusmate pricing page (free plan, Plus pricing), checked 2026-10-29
Related
We may earn a commission when you buy through links here. Commissions never change a score or a verdict. How we make money →